“SAMRUK-ENERGY” JSC | Integrated ANNUAL REPORT

MESSAGE OF THE CHAIRMAN OF “SAMRUK-ENERGY” JSC BOARD OF DIRECTORS

“Samruk-Energy” JSC group of companies maintained the dominant share in the electricity market of Kazakhstan in 2018 – 29.7 % of the total generation in  the  country and  produced 31.7 bln. Revenues from the  core business of “Samruk – Energy” JSC group of companies amount to 260.4 bln. tenge

Dear reader!

2018 was marked by an important event for “Samruk-Energy” JSC – the Company approved the new Development Strategy for 2018–2028.

The Strategy is based on current positions of “Samruk-Energy” JSC and takes into consideration the key trends of the external environment and power sector, which influence the Company’s operating conditions.

Over the coming years the Company will put its greatest energies into creating value for shareholders, meeting growing demand through reliable power supplies, high-tech development based on sustainability principles.

“Samruk-Energy” JSC group of companies maintained the dominant share in the electricity market of Kazakhstan in 2018 – 29.7 % of the total generation in the country and produced 31.7 bln. kWh of electricity. The record volume of coal – 44.9 mln. tons was mined at coal mines.

In 2018, along with production figures, “Samruk-Energy” JSC strengthened its financial stability by reducing the consolidated debt burden of 53 bln. tenge during 2018 and increasing EBITDA indicators. This contributed to the improvement of financial leverage. Actions taken enabled the power Holding Company to move out of red zone of financial risk.

Total consolidated revenues of the Company for 2018 amounted to – 268.08 bln. tenge, while revenues from the core business of “Samruk-Energy” JSC group of companies amount to 260.4 bln. tenge.

In 2018 “Samruk-Energy” JSC concluded agreements with Asian Development Bank in the amount equivalent to $ 120 million as part of loan portfolio optimization. The deal officially consolidated a long-term and strong partnership between the largest Kazakhstan energy holding and a reputable international financial institution for development. An Agreement with “Samruk-Energy” JSC is the first and unique experience in the Republic of Kazakhstan for Asian Development Bank, since loans are provided in national currency. The share of international financial institutions in the structure of “Samruk-Energy” JSC loan portfolio is 30 %, which exerts a considerable influence on “Samruk-Energy” JSC Group’s credit rating.

The Company will intensify measures to maintain and strengthen financial sustainability in the medium term. This will allow “Samruk-Energy” JSC to manage its debt in an efficient way and achieve an optimal capital structure.

The Company implemented a number of investment projects in 2018, 1 MW Solar Power Plant and 5 MW Wind Power Plant were commissioned, built in Almaty city and Almaty region under the Agreement between the Governments of Kazakhstan and China, these RES facilities have the potential to generate 18 mln. kWh of green electricity annually.

Today, both “Samruk-Energy” JSC and the country’s power industry are gearing up for the new event – the launch of the common electricity market of the EEU, which involves the establishment of relations system between entities of the wholesale electricity markets of the Union member states on the basis of parallel operating electricity systems linked with capacity sale and purchase. Owing to establishment of the EEU common electricity market, the Republic of Kazakhstan will not only gain a simplified access to the markets of the Union member countries, but also increase the openness of the internal market for external electricity suppliers. This means that new opportunities are emerging for “Samruk-Energy” JSC. I believe that a good experience and practice of the Company’s implemented projects give confidence that all strategic goals will be accomplished.

Beibit Karymsakov

АО «Самрук-Энерго» | Интегрированный годовой отчет

ОБРАЩЕНИЕ ПРЕДСЕДАТЕЛЯ СОВЕТА ДИРЕКТОРОВ АО «САМРУК-ЭНЕРГО»

В 2018 году АО «Самрук-Энерго» сохранило доминирующую долю на рынке электроэнергии Казахстана – 29,7 % от общей генерации по стране. Электростанции выработали 31,7 млрд. кВт•ч. Доход от основной деятельности по группе компаний АО «Самрук–Энерго» составил 260,4 млрд. тенге

Уважаемый читатель!

Для АО «Самрук-Энерго» 2018 год ознаменован важным событием – Компания утвердила новую Стратегию развития на 2018–2028 годы.

Стратегия базируется на текущих позициях АО «Самрук-Энерго» с учетом основных тенденций внешней среды и энергетической отрасли, оказывающих влияние на условия функционирования Компании.

Создание стоимости для акционеров, удовлетворение растущего спроса путем надежных поставок энергоресурсов, высокая технологичность развития, основанная на принципах устойчивого развития – основной фокус развития Компании на ближайшие годы.

В 2018 году группа компаний АО «Самрук-Энерго» сохранила доминирующую долю на рынке электроэнергии Казахстана – 29,7 % от общей генерации по стране и выработала электроэнергию на 31,7 млрд. кВт•ч. На разрезах добыт рекордный объем энергетического угля – 44.9 млн. тонн.

Наряду с производственными показателями АО «Самрук-Энерго» укрепило финансовую устойчивость в 2018 году путем сокращения консолидированной долговой нагрузки в течение 2018 года на сумму 53 млрд. тенге и ростом показателей EBITDA. Как следствие, улучшился показатель валового финансового левериджа. Принятые меры позволили энергохолдингу вый­ти из красной зоны финансового риска.

Общий консолидированный доход Компании за 2018 год составил – 268,08 млрд. тенге. Доход от основной деятельности по группе компаний АО «Самрук-Энерго» составил 260,4 млрд. тенге.

В рамках оптимизации кредитного портфеля АО «Самрук-Энерго» в 2018 году заключены соглашения с Азиатским банком развития на сумму эквивалентую 120 млн. долларов США. Сделка официально закрепила долгосрочное и прочное партнерство между крупнейшим казахстанским энергетическим холдингом и авторитетным международным финансовым институтом развития. Для Азиатского банка развития соглашение с АО «Самрук-Энерго» является первым и уникальным опытом в Республике Казахстан, поскольку кредиты предоставляются в национальной валюте. Доля международных финансовых институтов в структуре кредитного портфеля АО «Самрук-Энерго» составляет 30 %, что оказывает существенное влияние на скоринговый балл группы компаний АО «Самрук-Энерго».

В среднесрочном периоде Компанией будут усилены меры по сохранению и укреплению финансовой устойчивости. Это позволит АО «Самрук-Энерго» эффективно управлять долгом и добиться оптимальной структуры капитала.

В 2018 году Компанией реализован ряд инвестиционных проектов. Введены в эксплуатацию Солнечная электрическая станция мощностью 1 МВт и Ветровая электрическая станция мощностью 5 МВт, которые были построены в Алматинской области и Алматы в рамках Соглашения между Правительствами Казахстана и Китая. Эти объекты ВИЭ имеют потенциал в генерации 18 млн. кВт•ч зеленой электроэнергии в год.

Сегодня АО «Самрук-Энерго», как и электроэнергетическая отрасль страны, готовится к новому событию – вводу общего электроэнергетического рынка ЕАЭС, что предполагает создание системы отношений между субъектами оптовых электроэнергетических рынков государств-членов Союза на основе параллельно работающих электроэнергетических систем, связанной с куплей-продажей электрической энергии (мощности). В результате образования общего электроэнергетического рынка ЕАЭС Республика Казахстан получит не только упрощённый доступ к рынкам стран-участниц Союза, но также повысит открытость внутреннего рынка для внешних поставщиков электроэнергии. А это значит, что для АО «Самрук-Энерго» открываются новые возможности. Считаю, что хороший опыт и практика реализованных проектов Компании, вселяют уверенность в том, что все стратегические цели будут достигнуты.

Бейбит Карымсаков